

Proceedings of an Extraordinary Meeting of the Leeds City Council held Civic Hall, Leeds on Wednesday, 7th September, 2011

PRESENT: The Lord Mayor Councillor Reverend Alan Leonard Taylor in the

Chair

WARD WARD

ADEL & WHARFEDALE CALVERLEY & FARSLEY

John Leslie Carter Joseph William Marjoram

Clive Fox Rod Wood
Barry John Anderson Andrew Carter

ALWOODLEY CHAPEL ALLERTON

Dan Cohen Mohammed Rafique
Peter Mervyn Harrand Jane Dowson
Ronald David Feldman Eileen Taylor

ARDSLEY & ROBIN HOOD CITY & HUNSLET

Jack Dunn Patrick Davey
Lisa Mulherin Mohammed Iqbal
Karen Renshaw Elizabeth Nash

ARMLEY CROSS GATES & WHINMOOR

James McKenna Pauleen Grahame
Janet Harper Peter John Gruen
Alison Natalie Kay Lowe Suzi Armitage

BEESTON & HOLBECK FARNLEY & WORTLEY

Adam Ogilvie Ann Blackburn
David Congreve John Hamilton Hardy
Angela Gabriel David Blackburn

BRAMLEY & STANNINGLEY GARFORTH & SWILLINGTON

Ted Hanley Mark Dobson
Neil Taggart Thomas Murray
Andrea McKenna

BURMANTOFTS & RICHMOND HILL GIPTON & HAREHILLS

Asghar Khan Arif Hussain
Ron Grahame Kamila Maqsood
Ralph Pryke

GUISELEY & RAWDON

Paul Wadsworth Pat Latty Graham Latty

HAREWOOD

Matthew James Robinson Ann Castle

HEADINGLEY

Neil Walshaw Martin Hamilton Jamie Matthews

HORSFORTH

Dawn Collins Brian Cleasby Christopher Townsley

HYDE PARK & WOODHOUSE

Gerry Harper Javaid Akhtar Penny Ewens

KILLINGBECK & SEACROFT

Veronica Morgan Brian Michael Selby Graham Hyde

KIPPAX & METHLEY

James Lewis Keith Ivor Wakefield John Keith Parker

KIRKSTALL

John Anthony Illingworth Bernard Peter Atha Lucinda Joy Yeadon

MIDDLETON PARK

Judith Blake Kim Groves Geoffrey Driver

MOORTOWN

Rebecca Charlwood Sharon Hamilton

MORLEY NORTH

Robert William Gettings Thomas Leadley Robert Finnigan

MORLEY SOUTH

Neil Dawson Shirley Varley Judith Elliott

OTLEY & YEADON

Colin Campbell Ryk Downes Graham Peter Kirkland

PUDSEY

Richard Alwyn Lewis Mick Coulson Josephine Patricia Jarosz

ROTHWELL

Karen Bruce Barry Stewart Golton Donald Michael Wilson

ROUNDHAY

Christine McNiven Ghulam Hussain Matthew Lobley

TEMPLE NEWSAM

Katherine Mitchell

William Schofield Hyde

WEETWOOD

Susan Bentley Judith Mara Chapman Ben Chastney

WETHERBY

Alan James Lamb John Michael Procter Gerald Wilkinson

35 Declarations of Interest

The Lord Mayor announced that a list of written declarations submitted by Members was on display in the ante-room, on deposit in the public galleries and had been circulated to each Member's place in the Chamber.

Members were also provided with an additional copy of the Note of Advice on interests from the City Solicitor prepared in light of advice received from Colin Crawford of Counsel which had been circulated at the meeting on 13th July 2011.

Following an invitation to declare further individual interests, declarations in accordance with the Council's Member's Code of Conduct were made as follows:-

Members declared personal interests in minute 37 of this meeting, as follows:-

Cllr J Akhtar Member of the GMB
Cllr S Armitage Member of Unison.

Husband is in receipt of a pension from

Unison

Cllr B Atha Member of Equity

Cllr D Atkinson Member of USDAW

Cllr J Blake Member of the GMB

Cllr K Bruce Member of Unite

Cllr R Charlwood Member of Unite

Cllr D Congreve Member of Unison

Cllr M Coulson Member of the GMB

Cllr P Davey Member of Unite

Cllr N Dawson Member of Unison

Cllr M Dobson Member of Unite

Cllr J Dowson Member of Unite

Cllr G Driver Member of UCU

Cllr J Dunn Member of the TGWU and Unite

Cllr A Gabriel Member of Unison

Cllr P Grahame Member of the GMB

Cllr R Grahame Member of the GMB

Cllr K Groves Member of the GMB

Cllr P Gruen Member of Prospect

Cllr S Hamilton Member of Unison

Cllr T Hanley Member of Unite

Cllr G Harper Member of the GMB and Unite

Cllr J Hardy Member of the GMB

Cllr J Harper Member of Unison
Cllr A Hussain Member of the GMB
Cllr G Hussain Member of Unison

Cllr G Hyde Member of UCATT

Cllr J Illingworth Member of Unite and UCU

Cllr M Iqbal Member of the GMB

Cllr J Jarosz Member of the GMB

Cllr A Kahn Member of the GMB and CWU

Cllr J Lewis Member of the GMB

Cllr R Lewis Member of the GMB

Cllr A Lowe Member of the TGWU and Unite

Cllr M Lyons Member of ASLEF
Cllr C MacNiven Member of Unison
Cllr K Maqsood Member of Unison

Cllr J McKenna Member of the TGWU

Cllr K Mitchell Member of Unite

Cllr V Morgan Member of the GMB
Cllr L Mulherin Member of Unison
Cllr E Nash Member of GMB
Cllr A Ogilvie Member of Unite

Cllr K Renshaw

Member of Unison

Member of Unison

Cllr B Selby Member of the GMB

Cllr N Taggart Member of Unite
Cllr E Taylor Member of Unite
Cllr K Wakefield Member of GMB
Cllr N Walshaw Member of GMB
Cllr L Yeadon Member of GMB

Cllr P Harrand Member, West Yorks. Fire and Rescue

Authority

Cllr Campbell Wife a member of the GMB and he is a

Member of NUT

Cllr Fox Member of Action for Older People

Cllr Townsley Member of Equity

Cllr Lamb Former Trade Union Member

36 Minutes

It was moved by Councillor Wakefield, seconded by Councillor J Lewis that the minutes received at the meeting held on 13th July 2011 be further considered.

RESOLVED – That the minutes received on 13th July 2011 be considered further.

37 White Paper Motion - Trade Union Facilities

It was moved by Councillor Lamb, seconded by Councillor Campbell that this Council understands and recognises the valuable role played by Trades Unions in ensuring effective industrial relations and reaffirms the principle of providing reasonable support to Trades Unions including time off for stewards for this purpose.

However, this council believes that given the current state of the public finances taxpayer subsidy of full time Trade Union officials should now be brought to an end. The £417,000 annual cost to taxpayers in Leeds for 15 full time convenors is now unjustifiable both in terms of the massive budget pressure faced by Leeds City Council and the programme of cuts to frontline services currently being undertaken by the Labour administration.

This Council also notes the wider context of the huge donations that Trade Unions are able to offer to the Labour Party.

Upon being put to the vote the motion was declared lost.

On the requisition of Councillors Lobley and J Procter, the voting on the motion in the name of Councillor Lamb was recorded as follows:-

YES

Anderson, Bentley, Campbell, J L Carter, Castle, Chapman, Chastney, Cleasby, Cohen, Collins, Downes, Ewens, Feldman, Fox, Golton, Harrand, W Hyde, Kirkland, Lamb, G Latty, P Latty, Lobley, Marjoram, Matthews, J Procter, Pryke, Robinson, Wadsworth, Wilkinson, Wilson, Wood.

<u>31</u>

NO

Akhtar, Armitage, Atha, A Blackburn, D Blackburn, Blake, Bruce, Charlwood, Congreve, Coulson, Davey, Dawson, Dobson, Dowson, Driver, Dunn, Elliott, Gabriel, P Grahame, R Grahame, Groves, Gruen, S Hamilton, Hanley, Hardy, G Harper, J Harper, A Hussain, G Hussain, G Hyde, Illingworth, Iqbal, Jarosz, Khan, J Lewis, R Lewis, Lowe, MacNiven, Maqsood, A McKenna, J McKenna, Mitchell, Morgan, Mulherin, Murray, Nash, Ogilvie, Parker, Rafique, Renshaw, Selby, Taggart, E Taylor, Wakefield, Walshaw, Yeadon.

<u>56</u>

ABSTAIN

Finnigan, Gettings, Leadley, Varley.